Great-West Life and London Life Research Award - Ferguson


Dr. Stephen Ferguson

John P. Robarts Research Institute

The support of young scientists today is essential to building a pool of new researchers who will carry on the future of heart disease and stroke research in Canada. Dr. Stephen Ferguson, the first Great-West Life and London Life Research Scholar of the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada, is widely recognized as one of the up-and-coming stars in the research arena.

After receiving his PhD in Pharmacology and Therapeutics at McGill University in 1994, Dr. Ferguson completed his postdoctoral training at Duke University Medical Center in the United States where he learned new research methods and techniques in the field of cell biology. After being offered a position at The John P. Robarts Research Institute in London Ontario, Dr. Ferguson returned to Canada, and now applies the knowledge and skills gained from his training in his own research.
 
Dr. Ferguson has received the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada's prestigious McDonald Scholarship Award (awarded to the highest rated applicant) and the Premier's Research Excellence Award. Presently conducting research with The John P. Robarts Research Institute in London, Ontario, Dr. Ferguson is exploring the importance of the role that hormones circulating in the blood play in the control of blood pressure. A long list of research publications, contributing to the advancement of knowledge in this area also adds to his list of achievements.
 
Research scholarships enable promising new investigators, like Dr. Ferguson, to set up their own research laboratories and become established and productive researchers who, in turn train other new research protégés who will continue to build on the discoveries of today.
 
This award has been supported through the generous contribution of The Great-West Life Assurance Company and London Life Insurance Company over a period of three years. Such research partnerships are vital in providing an adequate level of support for Canada's young researchers.

 

English

Great-West Life and London Life Research Award - Ferguson

Dr. Stephen Ferguson
John P. Robarts Research Institute

Aujourd'hui, il est essentiel de soutenir les jeunes scientifiques afin de former une cohorte de nouveaux chercheurs qui sauront porter plus loin la recherche canadienne sur les maladies cadiaques et les accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Dr Stephen Ferguson, en tant que premier chercheur subventionné par la Great-West et London Life de la Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada, est généralement considéré comme une des étoiles montantes dans l'arène de la recherche.

Après avoir obtenu un doctorat en pharmocologie et thérapeutique de l'Université McGill en 1994, Dr Stephen Ferguson a suivi une formation postdoctorale au Centre médical du Duke University, aux États-Unis, où il a étudié les nouvelles techniques et méthodes de recherche dans le domaine de la biologie cellulaire. Le John P. Robarts Research Institute de London en Ontario lui ayant offert un poste, il est revenu mettre en pratique au Canada les connaissances et les compétences acquises au cours de ses années de formation et de recherche.
 
Le prestigieux Prix McDonald de la Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada (décerné au candidat ayant la cote la plus élevée) et le Premier prix d'Excellence en recherche (Premier's Research Excellence Award) ne sont que deux des nombreuses récompenses et distinctions reçues par Dr Ferguson au cours de sa carrière. Il faut également ajouter à la liste de ses réalisations de nombreuses publications de recherche contribuant à l'avancement des connaissances dans le domaine de la biologie cellulaire.
 
Les bourses de recherche permettent à de jeunes chercheurs d'avenir, tels que Dr Ferguson, de monter leur propre laboratoire, de devenir des chercheurs établis et productifs assurant en retour, la formation de stagiaires en recherche qui mèneront encore plus loin les découvertes d'aujourd'hui.
 
L'attribution de ce prix est rendue possible par la généreuse contribution de la Great-West, compagnie d'assurance-vie et de la London Life, compagnie d'assurance-vie, qui s'étale sur une période de trois ans. De tels partenariats de recherche sont essentiels si nous voulons fournir un niveau de soutien convenable aux jeunes chercheurs canadiens.

 
French