Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario - Clinician Scientist Award - Competition Results 2009

The Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario (HSFO) is pleased to announce the results of the Clinician Scientist Award competition.  

The standard stipend applies to these awards.
The list below is for information only.

Phase I

  • Davis, Darryl R. (University of Ottawa Heart Institute)
    Mechanism of therapy: cardiac stem cells in myocardial repair.
    Supervisor: Stewart, Duncan (Ottawa Hospital Research Institute)
  • Wijeysundera, Duminda N. (Toronto General Hospital)
    Improving the risk stratification and prevention of cardiac complications after major non-cardiac surgery.
    Supervisor: Laupacis, Andreas (St. Michael's Hospital)
  • Connelly, Kim A. (St. Michael's Hospital)
    Role of TGF beta acetylation in the pathogenesis of diabetic cardiomyopathy.
    Supervisor: Liu, Peter (Toronto General Hospital)
  • Whites, James A. (Robarts Research Institute)
    Supervisor: Prato, Frank (Lawson Health Research Institute)

Phase II

  • Ko, Dennis T. (Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences)
    Evaluating and improving the quality of care and outcomes of percutaneous coronary interventions in Canada.
  • Fowler, Robert A. (Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
    Prospective economic analysis in the prophylaxis for thrombolism in critical care trial.
  • Gladstone, David J. (Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
    Improving the detection and treatment of atrial fibrilation following transient ischemic attack and stroke.
  • Gollob, Michael H. (University of Ottawa Heart Institute)
    Insight into the mechanisms of atrial fibrilation.